The External Advisory Board is responsible for:

  • advising on trends in global food supply
  • suggesting priorities for external engagement
  • advising on the strategic needs within food security research

The Board is chaired by an external representative and meets twice a year. Members comprise:

Janet Bainbridge OBE

Chair, External Advisory Board

Professor Deborah Smith

The University of York

Professor Katherine Denby

The University of York

Alison Austin

Director, Environment and Business

Adam Bedford

Regional Director, NFU North East

Professor Tim Benton

The University of Leeds

Sue Davies

Chief Policy Advisor, Which?

Sara Eppel

Director, Eppel Sustainability

Dr Tim Finnigan

Director, R&D Quorn Foods

Professor Dr Heiner Goldbach

Professor of AgroEcology (Rtd) and Chair of Plant Nutrition, University of Bonn (Rtd)

Dr Katherine Kahn

Senior Programme Officer, Science and Technology, Gates Foundation

Calum Murray

Programme Leader, Sustainable Agriculture and Food Innovate UK

Professor Ian Noble

Leader, Global Category Platforms Group Mondelez

Emeritus Professor David J Read

Vice President, Royal Society (Rtd)

Mark Suthern

National Head of Agriculture, Barclays Bank

Professor Julie Fitzpatrick, OBE

Scientific Director Moredun Research Institute, Chief Executive Moredun Group